Time to go

30 June 2011 § 10 Comments

Close of business

No wandering
For my mind today:
It’s been a strict
Eight-hour forced march
On hard roads
Of others’ choosing,
The telephone bawling orders
And the Inbox driving me
With frequent lashes
Of its electronic whip.
Now the rest of me
Weary with inaction
Rises up; a quiet insurrection
Fomented by the sun
Shining in my window
And the swifts
Like black new moons
Racing over heaven.
The world has made a market of my hours:
Those that remain
Till sleep claims me
Are not for sale.
For now
I am free.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Time to go

  • slpmartin says:

    Enjoyed your freedom…as much as I enjoyed your poem which was a lot. 😉

  • John Stevens says:

    “… a strict/ Eight-hour forced march/ On hard roads/ Of others’ choosing” – that’s very good Nick, and an apt description of a common experience. I hope the hours of freedom brought their full reward and that the next day was less of a slog.

  • belfastdavid says:

    Enjoy your freedom Nick.

    I loved “swifts like black new moons” I find it impossible to watch swifts without smiling – there appears to be such exuberance in their activity!! 🙂

    I hope you have a good weekend

    David

    • gonecycling says:

      Good morning David – many thanks for your comment as always. I love swifts, too; always amazes me that they stay aloft virtually their whole lives, even sleeping on the wing. No wonder they’re so adept.

  • christine says:

    Hi,

    I love this! I found your site via our mutual friend, David Agnew.

    I love the “inbox driving me with frequent lashes of its electronic whip”, a line I wish I had written.

    Christine

  • gonecycling says:

    Good morning Christine – I thought I recognised your name; thanks so much for coming over! David is a real inspiration, so a positive comment from a friend of his means a great deal. Can you let me have a link to your site, please; can’t seem to reach you via your gravatar.

    • christine says:

      Hi,
      I haven’t got a site! I sit in my small corner like Little Jack Horner waiting for the courage to “pull out a plum”. David keeps giving me a gentle shove!

      I only started writing poetry at the beginning of this year whilst waiting for a diagnosis for MS. This inevitably came 3 months ago and David has helped me to use writing poetry as an avenue to express myself. I am enjoying the process but at the moment I am concentrating on reading some good poetry which David has put my way. And its lovely to read on here, I like your work very much, it appeals to me.

      I shall keep reading!

      Christine

      • gonecycling says:

        Allow me to join David in the gentle-shove department; it took me years – literally – to summon up the courage to start putting my poems in the public domain, but I’m so glad I finally did it. And if you’ve got a champion like Mr Agnew on your side, what can go wrong? I’d be really interested to read something of yours if you ever felt like sharing it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Time to go at Gonecycling.

meta

