Rondeau: So tired

20 April 2011 § 10 Comments

RONDEAU: So tired

I am so tired; my heart and head
Are empty now. A dragging dread
Engulfs me; my thoughts cease to flow.
I’m failing, all because, I know
                                                I am so tired.

My lust for life is all but dead.
Friends asked me out tonight; I said
I can’t; I’ll be no fun. You go:
                                                I am so tired

I wish that I could sleep, instead
Of lying, wakeful, in my bed
All night. I’m in a kind of slow
Decline, but must go on although
                                                I am so tired.

Don’t worry; it’s not that bad really. Just having one of my less-good days. And there’s nothing like working on a rondeau to take the mind off things.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Rondeau: So tired

  • slpmartin says:

    Glad to hear all is well there…we all have those times.

  • Brendan says:

    I hope this rondeau spun you happily out of the right side of the bed the next day. – Brendan

  • belfastdavid says:

    What a lovely way to give the spirit a lift.

    I am glad you included the note at the end Nick.

    I hope your Easter weekend brings you an uplift

    • gonecycling says:

      Thanks, David – if you’re ever going to see a rainbow, you have to stand a little rain, as the old song goes. Been out on the road bike the last couple of days, which has definitely perked me up! Hope all’s well with you, my friend.

  • Chloe says:

    I’m also glad you added the note at the end of this, and sorry to hear you were feeling this way at the time of writing – feelings which I can relate to all too well.

    Have a Happy Easter weekend with your family!

    Chloe xx

  • gonecycling says:

    Bless you, BP – I know you have days like that, too. Horrible aren’t they? Feeling much improved now, thankfully. Hope you have a wonderful Easter, too.

  • Narnie says:

    I skipped to this having read the last one. It is the perfect form for the mood you express – perfect. In its gentle sway, it’s almost a self-lullaby. Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rondeau: So tired at Gonecycling.

meta

