Filthy lucre

8 March 2011 § 8 Comments

Rolling in it

I had a spring song
Surging like the sap in my pen.
Then
When I read the news
My celandines shrivelled
My primroses lowered their pale faces
And my skylarks croaked, twitched
And tumbled out of the air.
Well
I guess you’ve earned your name
If not the sum
– enough to pay two hundred teachers –
They say you’re taking home this time:
The light of scrutiny and opinion
Just bounces off you;
So brilliant and precious
The whole world wants you for its own;
So adamantine in your defence
Of every penny,
The Mohs scale can’t measure
The hardness of your heart.
And as your limo wafts you
Into work this morning
I’m betting you’ll be laughing all the way.

In response to the revelation that Bob Diamond, chief executive of Barclays Bank, received pay and bonuses of £9.0 million, plus a further £15.2 million in shares, in 2010. My only comfort as a Barclays customer is that, as a result of the recession, for the last two years he’s been banking with me.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Filthy lucre

  • Ina says:

    That made me smile, that at least you and Bob Diamond (?) have the same bank. Let them be rich, we have the Spring flowers for free! 🙂

  • belfastdavid says:

    Some days I worry that I am turning into Victor Meldrew.

    But some days it is the only possible response!!

  • slpmartin says:

    I doubt that he banks where records are kept that could be viewed by the public at some point. ;-(

    • gonecycling says:

      It’s only now, after bringing the economy to the brink of collapse, that the banks have been forced to disclose any details at all about their top people’s remuneration – and they still don’t have to reveal what they pay their ‘star’ traders, who I gather receive even more outrageous sums. Still, if they’re all so keen to win the ‘richest guy in the cemetery’ contest, let ’em, I say. They’ll get no tears from me.

  • gonecycling says:

    I felt terrible for grumbling – and besmirching my blog with that greedy good-for-nothing’s name – but it definitely helped to get it out of my system. It’ll all be the same in 100 years.

  • Brendan says:

    What did the Romans say? “illegitimi non carborundum” — don’t let the bastard(s) get you down. Now go rouse those damn flowers and enjoy a proper spring. – Brendan

  • gonecycling says:

    Absolutely right, Brendan – in fact, after posting this I had to go to London for a meeting, which is usually purgatory, but I enjoyed a beautiful walk across Green Park (next to Buck Palace) and my client bought me coffee and cake in Fortnum & Mason (the Queen’s local store) which dispelled any lingering animosity I might have felt towards the world in general, and Bob D in particular! Thanks for your visit and comment, as always.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Filthy lucre at Gonecycling.

meta

