Precision

4 February 2011 § 7 Comments

Bike-riding shows me something wonderful in Nature every day. Some days it’s a big thing, like a fox or a rainbow; other times it’s just a tiny moment of perfection like this one.

ABSOLUTE PRECISION

As I pass
A blackbird bursts
Out of the hedge
Like a mortar shell
And
In its sudden startled flight,
Bullets between the lowest bars
Of a white farm gate
Across the road;
Laser-guided through a gap
Just wingtip-wide, then
Ricochets across the yard
To lodge in a tree
That happens to be
In the right place at the right time.
While I congratulate myself
On avoiding the pothole
I spotted at a hundred feet.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Precision

  • slpmartin says:

    The precision in nature is amazing to watch…loved how you ended with the comparison of skill levels. 🙂

  • gonecycling says:

    It was the fact that the bird went through (in fact, almost under) the gate, rather than over it that amazed me. And that it didn’t need to pause, think, judge speed or measure distance. Mind you, of necessity my pothole-dodging skills are getting pretty advanced; every road in the county seems to be crumbling away before our eyes at the moment.

  • John Stevens says:

    Yes, this is a pleasing image and actually a very precise one – plus a very pertinent comparison at the end!

  • Chloe says:

    How do you keep on your bicycle whilst noticing all of this beauty? I presume you stop every now and then? lol

    I love your beautiful observations of nature – they remind me of ‘old England’ and are very calming xx

    • gonecycling says:

      I stop more often than I used to – must be getting old 🙂 For years I just rode round as fast as I could; now I’m taking my time and noticing far more. A lesson learned!

  • belfastdavid says:

    There is such joy to be found by just being awake enough to notice.
    For too much of my life I let these moments pass me by
    Hopefully no longer, or at least not as often 🙂
    Beautifully observed

  • gonecycling says:

    Thanks, David – it’s only recently I’ve slowed down and really opened my eyes. Really appreciate your interest, and your very generous comment. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Precision at Gonecycling.

meta

