Bonus culture

21 January 2011 § 8 Comments

It’s bonus season at the banks, and the billions are flowing once more. My feelings on the egregious sums involved, and the people receiving them, are not suitable for publication. Instead, I’ve written about the payments-in-kind over and above my modest income I receive on a daily basis, courtesy of the Bank of Mother Nature.

FEATHERING MY NEST

Today, I got my bonus.
But I am no sacks-of-gold man;
My pockets are as shallow
As my wonderings are deep,
My profit margins narrow
As my wanderings are wide.
I took my reward
In the rosy blush of bullfinches,
A fieldfare blizzard,
The gallybird and magpie’s laugh,
The high keening of the buzzard
Black against a near-spring sky,
And my dog’s joyous circling
Of meadows lost last week to flood;
Free of tax, guilt and opprobrium,
Out of reach of moth and rust;
All mine to give away.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Bonus culture

  • That’s a better kind of bonus, if you ask me.

    Lovely, as usual!

  • gonecycling says:

    Hi Beate, lovely to hear from you – Le Tour seems a long time ago now! Thank you for your kind comment; while it’s tempting to add my quart of vitriol to the gallons being (deservedly) poured over Goldman Sachs et al at the moment, I decided it wouldn’t change anything, and that there were plenty of good things out there more worthy of my attention. As the movie ‘War Games’ concludes, the only way to win is not to play. Hope all’s well with you; cycling’s a hard game just now!

  • All well with me, though I’m looking forward to spring now. Hard to have picnics in fog and pouring rain;)
    As for the bonus culture, this is my philosophy with all such things – if you can’t change it, focus on the good things in life instead.

  • slpmartin says:

    The interest pay on this is better than you’ll get at the back that’s for sure…and yours is far more lasting. ;_0

  • Chloe says:

    A simply wonderful poem – this is what being rich is all about 😀 xx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bonus culture at Gonecycling.

meta

