Power on the land

7 October 2010 § 2 Comments

A poem inspired by the many vintage tractors I watched doing their stuff at a local ploughing match yesterday.

POWER ON THE LAND

I should hate them:
Raucous, oil-burning beasts
That condemned my quiet, beloved horses
To exile and extinction.
Yet my heart warms
To these homely stalwarts, still game
To plough and till the stubborn clay
Three generations on.
So simple I could drive one
In my sleep (and often did)
But with enduring rightness
Wrought in each casting and component
And the motive power of twenty teams
Compressed into a one-ton slab of steel.
After sixty years and more
They turn the earth
Beneath their wheels
And hand a man like me
The means to shape the world.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Power on the land

  • slpmartin says:

    I recall driving some of those old tractors…they indeed had their own character…perhaps it was just the time of life that had the character. 😉

  • Chloe says:

    Are some tractors really that old? Still tilling the stubbord clay? Wow! 😀 I especially love your closing lines “They turn the earth Beneath their wheels And hand a man like me The means to shape the world.” Cheers, Chloe xx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Power on the land at Gonecycling.

meta

