Rural drama

24 May 2010 § 1 Comment

For some reason, this morning found me flicking through a little Red’n’Black notebook I’d taken on holiday last summer. Among the endless rambling prose, I came across this little poem, which I’d completely forgotten about. I’d spotted these two lads while I was trundling along a quiet road in Brittany on my beloved Pashley Paramount; a little poetic licence did the rest. I’m taking this as an excellent lesson in the value of a) always having a notebook with me, and b) never throwing anything away.

DOWN ON THE FARM

One boy stands
On the bank
Staring, his hands
Thrust deep in his pockets;

The other –
Best friend or
elder brother –
Kneels by the heifer lying

On her side.
He looks up
Hands spread, eyes wide
Fumbles for his mobile.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Rural drama

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rural drama at Gonecycling.

meta

